Tags

, ,

Summer is here. It’s hot.  I’m thinking ice, ice and even more ice.

I remember that last summer I blogged about how to make that great ICED tea and coffee. However, I couldn’t remember how to make them.

So, I went to my blog inagrandfashion.wordpress.com.  In the upper right corner, there is a search box. I typed in ice tea  There it is …….22 June.  Iced Coffee, Tea and Lemonade: A Summer Necessity

Here is a summary of how to make iced coffee and tea from that blog.  If you want to see the whole blog just click on the red and open in a new tab.

Giant Ice Cubes for Drinks

One of the best and freshest way of really making cold, cold drinks is to make giant ice cubes. These great big ice cubes make the coldest drinks and they last a long time.  Wonderfully cooling.

  1. Thoroughly clean an empty small individual serving plastic cartons—-like yogurt cartons.  You might need to experiment to find out which size cartons best fit your glasses.

2.  Fill the empty carton with water.   I use filtered water from my Brita pitcher.  Remember that ice expands so fill no more than 3/4th full.

3. Put in the freezer.

4. To loosen the ice from the container,  run some cold water over the container bottom-side up.

Quick Fresh Iced Coffee 

The problem of making ice coffee is that you have to wait so long for it to get cold or you make it ahead of time, but it no longer tastes like good coffee. (I’m not a coffee connoisseur but I do love good coffee.)

Last year I wrote about finding a youTube demonstrating the Japanese method of making ice coffee.

Not being a barista, this video may seem too complicated. However, the basic Japanese method is dripping the freshly made hot coffee  directly on to the ice. 

1,  You can use this method with any type of filter, French press and even instant coffee as long as you use a high-quality coffee. 

2.  The key to coffee-tasting, iced coffee is to remember that the ice will dilute the coffee.  Therefore, you need to make the coffee  stronger than you would for regular coffee.   You might experiment to get it just right for you.

3.  Now, fill a glass with ice. I use one of my giant ice cubes,  If you are concerned with the glass breaking because of the contrast of the hot and cold temperatures, use a heat sensitive, not-plastic container, such as Pyrex or a ceramic cup, and then transfer to an attractive glass.

4.  Slowly drip the fresh coffee  on to the ice. That’s it!  Add more ice if needed and milk if you wish.

Simple Sugar Syrup

If you would like to make a simple sugar syrup for cold drinks, go to the original blog by clicking here.

Iced Tea

 I also love ice tea in the summer.  Brings me back home. However, I  never have been very successful at making iced tea even though I make a great cup of hot English tea.

I was delighted to find a posting on canadianliving.com “Six rules for the best iced tea plus recipes”  Click to see the original article.

  • Use enough tea bags, usually two tea bags for every 3 cups of water.
  • Don’t overstep. For tea stronger, use more tea bags rather than lengthening the steeping time. (Steeping time is about 5-10 minutes.) For weaker tea, reduce the steeping time rather than reducing the number tea bags.
  • Use filtered water.  I have found that this is the biggest difference in my general cooking and beverage making.
  • Add sugar to hot water only if all of the tea is to be sweeten your tea. If you prefer to sweeten your tea afterwards, use the simple sugar syrup.
  • Cool before refrigerating because putting hot tea into a cold fridge will it cloudy. If it does become cloudy, try adding a bit of boiling water to it.
  • Don’t use artificial lemon juice or other artificial flavors.
  • Fresh is best.  Make only what you will drink in two or three days.
