Tags

, , ,

It would be so much easier to go to the TV store and point, “I’ll take that one!!!”  But, then I would have nothing to write about!

Besides, right now my old TV is behaving.  It must know that what I’m thinking of replacing it, especially as someone has put the same make and model  out for the garbage collectors.

Nonetheless, the time will come. On with my investigation of what TV to buy.

LED or Plasma?

The salesperson—yes, I did make it as far as going to a TV store—told me that my real choice was between a LED or a plasma TV.

He asked me, “Do you have any reflections on your TV?”

“Yes”, I answered.

Then, the salesperson said,

“You want a LED-backlit.

Then I checked another store.  This time, trying to prove that I knew something about the new TVs.

I announced, “I have reflections on my TV.”

This salesperson responded, “Doesn’t matter.  The newest TVs, both LED and plasma, are coated so they don’t reflect.  The plasma gives you a better picture!

Deflated, I returned home in utter confusion. This time I checked to see if I really did have reflections on the tv during the day in bright sunshine and during the evening with all the lights on.  Guess what?  There are no reflections on the old TV.  So check off reflections.  I can have either type without any worry.

To read the article yourself,  right-click on the red and open in a new tab.

This  time, I looked at the “Consumer Reports”, the website of the USA consumer magazine, and “WHICH”, the one from the UK.  Both will give you a lot of valuable information based on their extensive testing programs. However, you have to subscribe to either the website or the magazine to get the details on specific models.

Viewing Angle 

I learned another factor in determining whether to buy a LED or plasma:  viewing angle.

If you always watch tv sitting up, straight in front of the set, then you needn’t worry about the viewing angle. On the other hand, if you have an L or U-shaped seating arrangements or if you watch tv laying on the floor, you need to be concerned about the quality of the picture when viewing from these different angles.  In this case, the plasma TV is considered to be more appropriate. 

SMART TV?

Best smart TV platforms

A Smart TV put  Internet-based content on your TV without using a computer.  These TVs give you access to the Internet and to a number of apps , through a broadband connection.  Or, it can work with your home WiFi system.

Since I enjoy watching internet-based shows on my computer, I know that they will be even better on a larger screen TV.

For example, I like to watching PBS’ “Live from Lincoln Center” on my computer.  It would be so much better watching it on my Smart TV whenever I wanted.

If you watch films from Netflix, HuLu and Amazon, you can watch them directly on your Smart TV.  However, remember if a program cannot be shown on the internet in your country, you may not be able to see it on you smart TV either.

If you live outside of the USA, the UK and western Europe, you might want to check with your cable, satellite and internet providers to see  what additional advantages you can gain from a Smart tv.

3D TV?

If you had asked me six months ago if I  wanted  a 3D TV, I’d say absolutely NO.  However, after seeing in the cinema, movies, such as “The Life of Pi” and now “The Great Gatsby”, both in 3D, I think that this feature might be a consideration.

Just as 3D in the theater has improved greatly, 3D TVs are reported to be excellent ,and 3D content is increasing.  With some brands, 3D and Smart internet access are bundled, priced together.

 Bottom Line

To me, the decision to buy a Smart TV and 3D comes down to whether you are becoming more ccomfortable using your computer to watch various media, such as TV shows and movies. And, if  you already have WiFi.  If yes, then watching on a larger screen in a comfortable seating and with other people through a Smart TV might even be better.  If 3D is available at no additional cost or very little cost, why not?

What Brand to Buy?

The big question.  First, what is your price range?

The preference for a manufacturer differs by the features you want.  You need to decide upon the size, whether you want a LED or Plasma TV and if you want a Smart TV and possibly 3D. Of course, there are other features that you might want to consider; however, these appear to be the most important.

Prices do vary by manufacturer.

Go visit a TV store.  If a picture looks better than another, ask that it be adjusted to maximize the quality.  

To be able to find a review of these models and to compare prices at various online website, be sure to get the complete identification number of the TVs you like plus a listing of its features.  It is also good to know the year of manufacturing.

The internet is very helpful in finding information.  However, it still cannot make up  my mind for me.  Am I really ready for a new TV?

