tired-woman

I decided that I wanted to make some cookies but ……. Life was just too complicated.

  • The butter was frozen.
  • I didn’t have enough white sugar.
  • I didn’t have an electric beater.
  • And I was low on my own energy.

I didn’t have the energy to cream soften butter. Besides, I didn’t have time to wait for the butter to thaw and become room temperature.

What should I do?

  • First of all, instead of making cookies, make bars.
  • How about melting the butter?  But, would this work????

Went to the Internet. Into my browser…..“Can I use melted butter to make cookies”

Image result for using the internet

Here are two of the websites I liked.  The part about using melted butter in both articles is near the bottom.  (If you want to read, remember to left click to open these websites.)

The answer was not exactly concrete. It seems that the cookies would be chewier.  That’s not bad.

OK. Let’s try using melted butter instead of creaming the butter in my favorite Snickerdoodle bar recipe that I modified from the website FiveHeartHome.  

 

Snickerdoodle Bars Photo

I did just that. They were just as good, even better, than when I used less brown sugar and creamed the butter.  Chewy and moist.

Ingredients

·         2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

·         1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

·         1 teaspoon cream of tartar

·         1/2 teaspoon salt

·         1/2 cups sugar

·         1 1/2 cup brown sugar

·         1 cup (2 sticks) butter, melted

·         2 eggs, at room temperature

·         1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

·         For the Topping. (You can make more if you need, depending on your taste.)

·         2 tablespoons sugar

·         1 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Instructions

1.      Preheat to 350°F. Lightly grease a 9 by 13-inch baking pan; set aside.

2.      In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, cream of tartar, and salt.

3.      In a large bowl, blend in sugar and brown sugar.

4.      Melt the butter. Let cool a bit.

5.      Gradually beat into the sugar. (The butter and sugar won’t blend well. Don’t panic.)

6.      Beat the eggs in a small bowl.  Mix in vanilla.

7.      Gradually beat into the sugar-butter mixture. (Now the mixture will come together and look “normal.”

8.      Gradually mix the flour mixture into the sugar-butter mixture until well combined.

9.      Spread in an even layer in the prepared pan.

10.  In a small bowl, mix the sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle evenly over the top of the batter.

11.  Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

12.  Cool in the pan on a wire rack. Cut into about 20 bars.

Related image

When life looks too complicated, go to the Internet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

