Tags

Armed with my enthusiasm for my Melted Butter Snickerdoodles in my last post, I wondered if I also could make Chocolate Chip Bars using this melted butter technique.

Image result for melting butter

The situation is the same.  I didn’t have the energy to cream soften butter.

  • The butter was frozen.
  • I didn’t have enough white sugar.
  • I didn’t have an electric beater.
  • And I was low on my own energy.

But, also how do you make chocolate chip cookies without any chocolate chips.

First,  I dashed to the local mini-store. No chocolate chips. But, they do have extra-large Hershey’s chocolate almond bars.  Good, I can cut them into pieces.

Image result for extra large Hershey’s chocolate almond bars 4.25

Now to the Internet to find one of my favorite recipes.  Into my browser, “Nestle’s chocolate chip bars”.

Image result for senior using ipad

 

I adapted this recipe for that original recipe for the famous Nestle’s chocolate chip cookie recipe.

Melted Butter Chocolate Bar Bars

 

Image result for chocolate chip bars with nuts

 

 

Ingredients

Instructions

1.      Preheat to 350°F. Lightly grease a 9 by 13-inch baking pan; set aside.

2.      In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt.

3.      In a large bowl, blend in sugar and brown sugar.

4.      Melt the butter. Let cool a bit.

5.      Gradually beat into the sugar. (The butter and sugar won’t blend well. Don’t panic.)

6.      Beat the eggs in a small bowl.  Mix in vanilla.

7.      Gradually beat into the sugar-butter mixture. (Now the mixture will come together and look “normal.”

8.      Gradually mix the flour mixture into the sugar-butter mixture until well combined.

9.      Spread in an even layer in the prepared pan.

10.  Break the chocolate into pieces. (Not too small, not too big!)

11.  Place evenly over the top of the batter.

12.  Bake for  30 to 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

12.  Cool in the pan on a wire rack. Cut into about 20 bars.

 

NOTE:  You can melt the butter anyway that you want…..top of stove or microwave. In the microwave, I learned the hard way to only gradually melt.  Or, you can have a big mess to cleanup.  Best to put a plate under the bowl, just in case.

 

